I watched the final 15 minutes standing in the back by the exit, holding a sleeping baby, ready to run at the slightest wimper. I chose my spot wisely- I could sing along without being heard and  do the dance/walk they do during the finale of the stage show without being seen. All I needed was the flag. 

And that epilogue…that moment Fantine shows up to take Valjean home… the “Take My Hand, and lead me to salvation” part? Tears rolled down my face, partly because it’s so painfully and truthfully beautiful, and partly because it took me back seventeen years  to when I first saw the musical in the Imperial Theater on W 45th St. and did not let out a breath until intermission. 

So what to think of the film version of a stage musical I know by heart?

Seeing their faces changed everything. 

You can’t replace the turning stage, the live orchestra, and being within feet of 24601…but impeccable film acting, intentional with every facial muscle, captivated me in an entirely different way.

Bravo. I will join in your crusade. 

What did you think? 

3 thoughts on “When I finally saw Les Miserables,

  1. Totally agree! I’ve loved the musical all my life and nothing can replace the experience of the stage. But… the movie was amazing. Love those tight shots of the actors singing.

    Like

  2. well well..you heard “the people call”
    gut wrentching..yet so liberating eh?
    happy you got to take it in..
    let’s watch it later on DVD on our BIG
    screen and SING OUTLOUD!?

    Like

  3. Loved it! I cried a lot,..mostly because of the spiritual realities that connected with me so many times in the film. Grace…one transformed by accepting it; another destroyed by rejecting it. So many reflections of Jesus.

    Like

Leave a comment